Modern Classics: New Violin Concertos

Mar 25, 2019

Violin Concertos by James Newton Howard & Aaron Jay Kernis

All good things must -- eventually -- come to an end. Our new, limited, five-week series "Modern Classics" concludes on Friday evening, March 29th, at 6:00pm on Classical 104.9 FM.

You'll hear performances by the cellists of Northwestern University, by Anne Akiko Meyers, and by the Steve Reich Ensemble.

And, to begin the program, highlights from a pair of brand-new American violin concertos -- both written for, and played by, soloist James Ehnes!

  • James Newton Howard: Violin Concerto (Finale)
  • Aaron Jay Kernis: Violin Concerto (Finale)
  • Steve Reich: Six Marimbas
  • John Luther Adams: Canticles of the Sky -- The Sky with Four Moons
  • Einojuhani Rautavaara: Fantasia for Violin & Orchestra (2015)

Modern Classics • Episode Five • FRIDAY, March 29 • 6pm • Classical 104.9 FM & WWNO HD-2